Down vs down alternative comforters: what each label word actually promises
Down is the soft cluster from under a duck's or goose's feathers. Down alternative is a synthetic fill made to imitate it. The practical difference is what the label is allowed to mean.
"Down" has a rule behind it. Under Ohio's labeling rule, a fill called "down" must be at least 70% down, and "goose down" at least 80%.
"Down alternative" does not. The rules we read never define it, so each maker describes its own fill, and no standard number exists to compare two of them.
Below: what each label word promises, what fill power and RDS do and do not tell you, the two fills side by side, and the one down comforter we examined.
What each label word promises
Most comparisons of down and down alternative argue about warmth and feel. We started somewhere more checkable: what each word on the label is actually allowed to mean, and who says so.
We read Ohio's rule on down and feather fillers in full, because it spells the terms out. It is one state's rule, and other states may word theirs differently.
| On the label | What it promises | Who says so |
|---|---|---|
| "Down" | At least 70% down clusters, plumules and down fibres; the rest can be feathers and a few set extras | Ohio Administrative Code 4101:6-1-12 |
| "Goose down" | At least 80% down, with goose down clusters at least 65% of the whole | Ohio Administrative Code 4101:6-1-12 |
| "700 fill power" | How much space the down fills per ounce: loft, not the amount of down in the comforter | The maker, using an industry test |
| "RDS" | Animal welfare, including no live plucking or force feeding, and a chain of custody. Not warmth or quality | Textile Exchange, which runs the standard |
| "Down alternative" | Nothing fixed. The rules we read do not define it; makers describe their own synthetic fills | Not defined in the rules we read |
Ohio Administrative Code 4101:6-1-12, "Down and feather fillers", effective 5 November 2021, read in full on 25 September 2026. Textile Exchange's description of RDS read from its own page on the same day.
The minimum share of down each label word guarantees under Ohio's rule on down and feather fillers: a fill labelled "down" must be at least 70% down, and "goose down" at least 80%.
"Down alternative" has no minimum of anything, because the rules we read do not define the term at all.
The Ohio rule is stricter than it looks in one respect. Where it says "not less than", no minus tolerance is allowed, so a fill labelled goose down cannot come in a little under its 80% and still use the word.
It also sets what the rest can be. The part of a "down" fill that is not down is mostly feathers, with small capped shares for broken feathers, fibres and residue, each with its own limit in the rule.
Fill power is loft, not amount
Fill power is the number down is sold by. It measures how much space one ounce of down fills, so larger, loftier clusters score higher. The down comforter we examined states 700.
What fill power does not measure is how much down the comforter holds. That is fill weight, and it is the number listings most often leave out. Two comforters at 700 fill power can differ a lot in warmth if one simply has more down in it.
Down alternative has no equivalent of fill power. Brooklinen, for example, describes its down alternative fill as recycled poly microgel and sells it in three named weights, from Lightweight to Heavyweight, without a fill weight in its product description.
Wool has the same problem in a different unit, which our wool comforter guide tackles by converting four makers' figures to one.
What RDS certifies, and what it does not
The Responsible Down Standard, run by Textile Exchange, is the certification on the down comforter we examined. It is an animal welfare standard, and Textile Exchange lists prohibiting live plucking and force feeding among its requirements.
It also tracks certified down as it moves through the supply chain. What it is not is a quality mark. It says nothing about fill power or warmth, and Textile Exchange states that its standards are not designed to give full supply chain transparency.
So RDS answers one question well, how the birds were treated, and a down comforter without it has simply not made that claim. For a down alternative the question does not arise.
Down and down alternative side by side
We have kept this table to what we could source. Warmth, weight and lifespan are where most comparisons spend their words, and none of the pages we read backed those numbers with a source.
| Down | Down alternative | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Clusters from under the feathers of ducks or geese | A synthetic fibre fill, described by each maker in its own words |
| What the label word guarantees | A minimum down share, under state labeling rules | Nothing set in the rules we read |
| Main quality number | Fill power, a loft figure per ounce | No standard number; some makers sell named weights |
| Welfare question | Yes, and RDS is one standard that answers it | Not applicable |
| Washing | Varies by product; read the label | Varies by product; read the label |
Washing is the row people expect to be one-sided, and it is not. The down comforter we examined says to machine wash it cold and tumble dry on the lowest heat. A down comforter is not automatically a dry clean job, and a down alternative is not automatically machine safe: the care label decides.
If neither fill appeals, wool is a third option with its own trade-offs, mainly around washing. And if you are still deciding between a comforter and a duvet setup, start with our duvet vs comforter guide.
The one we examined
We read one down comforter in detail: the PlushBeds White Goose Down Comforter. It states European white goose down at 700 fill power, RDS certification, a 330 thread count cotton sateen shell, and that it is handcrafted in the US.
Three things are missing or unclear. It does not state its down percentage or its fill weight. It describes its stitching both as box stitched and as baffle box construction, which are two different ways of holding down in place. We could not tell which is right.
And its return terms conflict. The page text says the comforter is not returnable, for safety and sanitary reasons, with a 2-year warranty, while the page's machine-readable data declares a 365-day return window. Rely on the written terms, and ask before ordering if returns matter to you.
Its sizes run large: a queen is 88 by 98 inches. Check that against your duvet cover, which our guide to getting a duvet into its cover explains how to do. PlushBeds does not sell a down alternative comforter, so we have no down alternative to set beside it.
What we are not telling you
Pages on this question lean on health language, especially that down alternative is the better choice for allergies. We are not repeating that or attributing it. Whether a fill suits someone's health is not something we can check.
We are also not ranking warmth or lifespan. The figures we found for both were unsourced, and we have not slept under these comforters. How we decide what to recommend is in our method.
Common questions
What is the difference between down and down alternative?
Down is the soft cluster from under the feathers of ducks or geese, and the word has a labeling rule behind it: in Ohio's rule, "down" means at least 70% down. Down alternative is a synthetic fill made to imitate it, and the rules we read do not define it at all, so each maker describes its own version.
What does fill power mean?
Fill power measures how much space one ounce of down fills, so a higher number means loftier clusters. It does not tell you how much down is in the comforter. Two comforters at 700 fill power can hold very different amounts. The down comforter we examined states 700 fill power and does not state its fill weight.
Does RDS mean the down is better quality?
No. The Responsible Down Standard is about how the birds were treated. Textile Exchange, which runs it, lists prohibiting live plucking and force feeding and a chain of custody for certified material. It says nothing about loft or warmth, and the organisation says its standards are not designed to give full supply chain transparency.
Can a down alternative comforter be used as a duvet insert?
Yes, if the sizes match. A duvet insert is any filled comforter that goes inside a cover, and Brooklinen, for one, sizes its down alternative comforter to fit its own duvet covers. Check the inches rather than the size name: the down comforter we examined is 88 by 98 inches in queen, and inserts and covers labelled queen do not always agree.
Is down or down alternative better?
It depends on what you want the label to guarantee. Down comes with a legal minimum for the word, a fill power figure and, if certified, a welfare standard. Down alternative comes with whatever its maker chooses to state. Neither label tells you the fill weight, which is the number most comparisons skip. We have not slept under these, so we do not rank warmth.